Posted on

Tom Scott and the LA Express & “Rock Island Rocket”

From the album Tom Cat. I associate this song (and whole album) with a certain hangout in my younger days. Once again the magic of Youtube comes through to recreate the glorious 70s! (Did I really say “Glorious 70s”?)


I always loved this album cover. The drummer John Guerin is very well known but I only know him from this album. Tom Scott was the one playing sax for the Taxi Driver theme.

It finally occurs to me (Duh!) that the cat theme probably comes from the fact that Tom Scott and the LA Express did the music to The Nine Lives of Fritz the Cat (I never saw it, but saw the first one).

3 responses to “Tom Scott and the LA Express & “Rock Island Rocket”

  1. nightsky

    Tom Scott worked on a couple of Steely Dan albums and was the bandleader for the Chevy Chase show. You know him, Dan’s old drummer? Synchronicity is crazy.

  2. nightsky

    Love this song, by the by.

  3. wdydfae ⋅

    I just quickly edited (with no indication in the post–sorry) for the Fritz the Cat note. We really are dating ourselves, but to me, this music holds up veeerrrrryyyy well. I remember the other songs on this album also being good, but they don’t jump out at me.

Leave a Reply

