Posted on

We can’t all be heroes & wax

Nightsky brought this to my attention. Kids, an inflected form of the “F” word appears approximately 4 times in this song. The “S” word appears once. So, I wash my hands.

Update: This is now the higher production official version, which dramatizes some of the lyrics, and very effectively.

The way it happened was I was trying to find a Youtube for Twaughthammer he was telling me about and then I thought that a video of Wax performing live was the one he meant based on the search terms I was using and I said to Nightsky is this it and Nightsky said no but this is good and then he checked out some more by Wax and recommended the above and thanked me for turning him on to it even though it was Nightsky that turned meonto it and the other Wax thing that I did turn him onto was just a mistake because I thought it was the Twaughthammer thing he was telling me about.

So somewhere in there credit is due to someone . . . for something.

Now that I got that out of the way, I like “We Can’t All Be Heroes.” I like to hear rap turning back to soul and horns. Rap is not really my thing (even though I liked some of Eminem’s stuff) but I certainly realize it’s my generational handicap.

In this case, I’m still dealing with the shock of finding a practical, realistic message coming from a rap song, or any song for that matter.

4 responses to “We can’t all be heroes & wax

  1. nightsky

    When I read your first sentence, my mind went through the same train of thought that you laid out in the second paragraph… before I even read it.

    In this case, I’m still dealing with the shock of finding a practical, realistic message coming from a rap song, or any song for that matter.

    Tru Dat! I think the last documented case of that happening was 1992. And there were rumors of kickbacks to the, uh, documenters involved.

    “I just wanna live comfortably, and I ain’t talkin bout wealth
    I’m talkin bout my brain I’m talkin bout mental health”

    Word.

    Lyrics here – http://www.waxdotcom.com/?p=264

  2. nightsky

    There’s a wealth in the lyrics if one really pays attention. It’s not the usual posturing and crap aimed at selling discs – this guy is telling his story. That’s what rap – and rock – used to be.

  3. wdydfae ⋅

    I’m with you on that totally. It gets better on re-listening and is worth listening closely to.

  4. Pingback: We Can’t All Be Heroes « nightskyradio

Leave a Reply

