Posted on

Flora Purim & Light as a Feather

Chick Corea and Return to Forever

Title cut in the classic Latin flavored jazz fusion album by RTF (their second), before they became giants of jazz rock (with Al Di Meola and Lenny White). Flora Purim (vocals), Chick Corea (keyboard), Stanley Clarke (bass), Joe Farrell (flute & sax), Airto Moreira (drums). 1973. 70s, man. What can I say?

6 responses to “Flora Purim & Light as a Feather

  1. Great album, Purim nails corea’s vibe

    • wdydfae

      Thanks for tuning in! I agree. Reacquired both Flora RTF albums last year and they bring much joy, especially Light as a Feather. Used to have a solo album of hers on vinyl that was pretty good. I found a few she did with Jaco recently, once of which (Las Olas?) I might post someday soon.

  2. wdydfae

    Dear scattered readers, I encourage you to check out dblbasscleph’s site:
    http://postboppimpoint.wordpress.com/

    Especially if you want to see what a real jazz afficionado’s blog looks like!

  3. wdydfae

    Wait, here it is. Man, it’s beautiful.

    It’s got Herbie Hancock on it, too! I wish Jaco had done much more stuff with Herbie.

    The cover amazes me because on the one hand Flora looks sooooooo sexy but on the other hand she doesn’t seem the least bit concerned that Freddy Krueger is standing outside the room.

  4. wdydfae

    dblbasscleph, since you’re a bass player, I wonder if I could have your opinion on this. Don’t you think that on “Light as a Feather”, great as it is, Stanley Clarke’s bass doesn’t come out quite loud enough in the sound engineering? It seems I have to kind of strain my ears and imagine half of that bassline rather than actually hear it.

Leave a Reply

