Posted on

Kyary Pamyu Pamuseum Part 2 Fashion Monster

Our first segment took us 1/3 of the way through the Kyary Pamyu Pamuseum. Now we stop to dwell on the Fashion Monster tableau, which is the centerpiece of the Pamuseum exhibit, and rightly so.
Fashion Monster TableauFashion Monster

I posted the Fashion Monster video with commentary here. In my estimation, it is Kyary’s best song, her best video, her cutest incarnation, and here, her best display. It features a lot of props, namely the mutant hybrid musical instruments of the monster band.

Trumpet . . . ?Trumpet . . . ?

bassDali-esque bass

keyboardDJ console double cassette player turntable keyboard

drumsdrums

I’m sorry–this is a lousy shot of the drum set, which was tucked away in back. (I wanted to crop to improve it, but I have not mastered the final steps of the cropping function yet.) The drum set includes a birdcage and fan-cymbals.

Now, the last instrument is . . . so weird and inexplicable that it raises my estimation of Kyary at least four points. Okay, five.

CIMG0788

Wow! Not shown completely are the spiny antennas sticking out of it. What in the world is it? In the video, this “musical” “instrument” is “played” by a Jack Skellington looking figure. By “played” I mean he makes a lot of dance motions over it with his upper limbs. I welcome any interpretations from my respected readers.

Aspiring video artists might be encouraged to know that these instruments, which look so good on the video, are incredibly flimsy–basically cardboard and plastic with a lot of gold spray paint. If you’re good at art, you might not need all that much money, is all I’m saying . . .

Saving the best for last, there is, of course, Kyary herself, with her irresistible bat-do and cute monster claw pose. You go grrrrrllllll! Kyary conquered my heart with this video, and the effect is only mildly diminished here by the near complete lack of identifiable facial features.

KyaryKyary Pamyu Pamyu
FashionFashion
MonstressMonstress

Coming up next, the final Pamuseum segment. Thanks for watching and stay tuned!

Update: JChan comments below that the mystery instrument is (or at least is modelled on) a real instrument, the Theremin, which was also the instrument used for the melody in the original Star Trek series. Thanks, JChan!

8 responses to “Kyary Pamyu Pamuseum Part 2 Fashion Monster

  1. Pingback: Kyary Pamyu Pamuseum 3 The Final Segment | What Do You Do for an Encore?

  2. NyNy ⋅

    A lot of the stuff is not my taste but very interesting, thank you for sharing this post with me 🙂

  3. Pingback: Kyary Pamyu Pamuseum Report Part 1 | What Do You Do for an Encore?

  4. I want a DJ console double cassette player turntable keyboard.

    With wi fi and an 8 track.

    • wdydfae

      You can’t have everything. I think the human head cathode nipple antenna platter got the wi fi (at least if my interpretation of the video is correct). But the 8 track is still negotiable!

  5. JChan

    that weird instrument is called a Theremin – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theremin – it’s been around for a while and uses electronic signals to make noise/music. It’s the same instrument that’s used in the Star Trek Original Series Theme.

    • wdydfae

      I’ll be darned! Thanks a million JChan!

      BTW I love that sound/melody in the original ST series (which I grew up on).

      I will probably update the post soon to reflect your information, with attribution. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

