Posted on

Oscar Peterson & How Long Has This Been Going on? &Transcription

Oscar Peterson in Paris (1978).

I shudder to think of the sweatshop where those poor little old men work day and night, note by note, transcribing Oscar Peterson’s piano improvisations.

We interupt this jazz piano transcription for a special message from someone special to another special someone:
Dexter.jpg
How long has this been going on, indeed?

12 responses to “Oscar Peterson & How Long Has This Been Going on? &Transcription

  1. Pingback: Funny Names In The News #42: A Momentous Occasion in Three Parts | The Blog of Funny Names

  2. Liz

    very funny with how you presented these transmission interruptions!

  3. amb

    I meant to ask you yesterday if it was you or Dave who made the song selections for his devious plan. Whoever it was, you hit it out of the park with this one – I love when Oscar does Gershwin *swoon* I have the double album where the tracks are in stereo and mono – so very, very good!!!!

    • wdydfae

      Finally, something I can take credit for! Dave said choose any post, not necessarily a new one. This one and the Dreams Come True post first jumped into my mind. You have the double album of Gershwin or of Oscar Peterson? I’ve been getting a lot more into Gershwin these days. I used to think he overdid it and was overly sentimental. But now I think it’s older age and all those hormones kicking in that make me finally appreciate him. I recently watched an Amercian in Paris determined not to like it because it was so cornball, and ended up liking it a lot!

      • amb

        Well then, well done you πŸ™‚ Lol the album is both – it’s “Oscar Peterson Plays the George Gershwin Songbook” and it’s a favourite of mine. He’s totally sentimental, and I’m totally a fan. I LOVE an American in Paris!!

      • wdydfae

        Cool! The lady’s got taste! I mean, I already knew that but I didn’t think you had a jazz collection. Well, it was mostly the title that was determinative: “How long has this been going on?” does seem like a good description of the legendary Davember romance.

  4. amb

    Well thank you very much. I do indeed have a jazz collection, but it’s probably pretty conventional by your standards – lots of Davis and Coltrane and Evans and Fitzgerald and James. I do love Jamie Cullum though! And he’s pretty hip πŸ™‚

    A good description indeed. Enjoy the romance now, my friend, because once Dave’s off to medical school he’s not going to have the same kind of time to play with me anymore.

    • wdydfae

      I thought Dave was in medical school. Perhaps us old folks can keep you entertained, at any rate. Can you play cribbage?

      Well, teach me about James (Etta?) and James Collum. I can put some of their stuff up! I’m reaching the limit of my postable fusion repertoire.

  5. Pingback: My Life as a Movie Monday: Readers Choice Rom-Com Edition | words become superfluous

Leave a Reply

