Posted on

Miles Davis Quintet & Stuff

From Miles in the Sky (1967).

The second great Miles quintet. Miles Davis (trumpet), Wayne Shorter (sax), Herbie Hancock (piano), Tony Williams (drums), Ron Carter (bass). Arguably the best jazz combo that ever was–except for Miles’ first quintet. This album is from the late stage of the combo’s existence, but what a way to go out.

I got the album about a week ago. I vaguely remember hearing some tunes from it ages ago, but I must not have been paying much attention. This, the first cut, seems set to become my favorite rediscovered jazz track of 2013, at least so far. I can listen to it over and over again. I love Tony Williams’ drumming on this. The other tracks are superb, too, but more like the customary exploratory jazz of this combo specialized in. This is the only cut with Herbie Hancock on electric piano. This was a few years before Miles went electric in a big way.

8 responses to “Miles Davis Quintet & Stuff

  1. Liz

    sweet stuff! I like a lot. Could definitely listen to repeatedly.

    As promised last time I was here, I brought snacks 😉 http://foodcommunicationservices.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/foodforfuns-guide-to-irreverent-cookie-wisdom/ Seems a jazzy sort of cookie.

    And note that I have not questioned the veracity of anything you have written here. Just sayin’… 😉

    • wdydfae

      Liz, this stuff looks great!!

      This feels like an incredibly dumb question, but . . . how am I supposed to eat it?

      OK, so . . . If I told you that a guy named Toots Thielemans was well known as a jazz harmonica player and professional whistler, and is considered one of the greatest harmonica players of the 20th century, would you believe me?

      • wdydfae

        I’ve featured Toots here before:
        https://whatdoyoudoforanencore.wordpress.com/?s=blackbird

        Toots Thielemans also played at various times with Zoot Sims and Max Roach. Or maybe not. Maybe I made it all up. Maybe I’m just playing with your miiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnd . . .

      • Liz

        Yes, yes, I would believe you. And the gift of food is merely virtual. Though with the recipes you could whip up your own cookies or cake. And if you’re not much for the kitchen, word on the streets is that you have a new (blog) mom, so maybe she could make it for you? Which is horribly sexist, come to think of it, because your blog father could make it for you, too. Getting complicated–just pretend to eat and enjoy 😉

  2. Liz

    me again–hope it’s ok to poke my head back in again. Silly me, you’ve already had those choc-mint cookies. Brought this pony cake over instead. http://foodcommunicationservices.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/partying-like-ponies-and-an-awesome-birthday-cake/

    Feel free to stop by foodforfun and shamelessly promote your posts via comments anytime 😉 But I did genuinely want to bring a treat. So there you go.

    • wdydfae

      I love cupcakes with white icing and I love candy corn. You’re seriously ringing my bells here.

      • Liz

        no no no–the cat cupcakes disappeared last year at my daughter’s June bday party. What I brought over was that darned pony cake. Totally one-of-a-kind I’m sure.

        lol, playing with my miiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnd. I’m from Minnesota and us folk believe everybody about everything, so have at it 😉 But according to amb back at the Urban Shocker post, you and I are now a crime-fighting duo, so we better start playing on the same team.

  3. wdydfae

    What’s the drive-by chord Herbie hits at 0:22? It’s perfect but totally out of the blue.

Leave a Reply

