Posted on

Sunday Music & Tallis Scholars & Miserere

This Sunday’s sacred music selection is the “Miserere” by Gregorio Allegri, with Peter Phillips directing the Tallis Scholars, a great Renaissance plainsong ensemble that someone turned me on to some years back.

The clip is a 1994 performance in the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, Rome. I had this on CD, but loaned it out and seem not to have gotten it back. I don’t know if mine was of the same performance, but it sounded an awful lot like it. The text is Psalm 51. Nice Wikipedia entry on this piece here, including lyrics and English translation.

6 responses to “Sunday Music & Tallis Scholars & Miserere

  1. Liz

    you have some eclectic tastes!

  2. wdydfae

    I’m glad someone liked “Miserere”! It’s such a freaky good piece, but I was beginning to experience self-doubt about the music thing. (“What are people gonna think of this stuff?” etc. etc.)

    • Liz

      hearing you–I have the same Qs. Why did the cookie post get so many more hits than the cocktail post, etc. Folks are fickle, I guess.

      Your job (and mine too I suppose) is to share whatever gets us going. Not supposed to matter what readers think. (party line, anyway)

      Now that I’ve got you here, tell me more about The Book of T’Oob thing in your header. Nonsense stuff or does it mean something? (apart from being a riff on a Bible verse) Curious minds…

      • wdydfae

        I was wondering if anyone would get that. It’s self-mockery.

        I thought it would be more obvious!

        Read it out loud and then tell me if you don’t get it!

  3. Liz

    ‘k–I get it now. was thinking it was deep and meaningful or else referring to something Star Trek-like. Self-mockery. Not bad 🙂 You have quite a writing range–legalese to casual review to friendly chatter to psychology (your steps of BoFN real name disbelief) to faux Biblical quotations. Keeping your readers on our toes–well played.

    • wdydfae

      Thanks!

      That’s the style. But what about the substance? I had big plans for my Youtube Cult (revival meetings, overpriced books, relics, maybe even some televangelism, who knows what else) but so far it seems like I’m the only adherent . . .

Leave a Reply

