Posted on

Grateful Dead & China Cat Sunflower & I Know You Rider

Live in Paris at the Olympia Theater. From the Europe ’72 album. Courtesy of Youtuber LongStrangeTrip710.

Jerry Garcia (lead guitar, vocals), Donna Jean Godchaux (backing vocals), Keith Godchaux (piano), Bill Kreutzmann (drums), Phil Lesh (bass, vocals), Ron “Pigpen” McKernan (organ, vocals), Bob Weir (rhythm guitar, vocals).

When the Dead get going, I get the same rush from them that I get from jazz. And sometimes they can sustain that maximal exploratory sweet spot for a lot longer. I’m thinking of starting a Grateful Dead Retrospective component of music blogging. I’m really getting into the studio albums American Beauty and Workingman’s Dead. As for the live albums, I’m finding that while a lot of them do capture some of that Dead concert magic, they often aren’t recorded super well. However, that is definitely not the case here! This is a fantastic recording–even better than I remember. It seems like a perfect confluence of studio level sound quality and the legendary Dead concert vibe, and tight playing isn’t sacrificed here for live energy.

8 responses to “Grateful Dead & China Cat Sunflower & I Know You Rider

  1. Liz

    lots to feel with this song. This is what must be in the dictionary after the word “groove.” Love the guitar of course. (who would not?) You know how to spin a phrase, did-ify. Like your descriptions.

    • Dave ⋅

      I think someone once told me that people with the highest IQs listen to Bach, Mozart, and the Grateful Dead. I can’t find a citation so let’s just consider it untrue – since I barely listen to any of them 🙂 … only recently getting into the Dead.

      • wdydfae

        Please do not check and verify that! I always wanted a way to be smart, and that is such a bargain basement approach to instant perceived IQ enhancement (IPIQE). What a gold mine! I’ll be working this important discovery into a self-congratulatory post shortly! That is, if I can stop this excited finger trembling!

  2. wdydfae

    Thanks! I was just going to comment about Dead concerts, but then I realized . . . a young lady like yourself could not possibly have been to one.

  3. Liz

    thank YOU for that–blasted keyboard eats my words…

  4. Pingback: Sunday Extravaganza & Bach & Magnificat & and Bernini! | What Do You Do for an Encore?

Leave a Reply

