Posted on

Joni and Jaco & In France They Kiss on Main Street

From Shadows and Light (1980), a live double album.

Joni Mitchell, of course, singing and playing rhythm guitar. Jaco Pastorius on bass. Pat Metheny on guitar. Lyle Mays on keyboard. Don Alias on drums. Sheesh, what a lineup.

14 responses to “Joni and Jaco & In France They Kiss on Main Street

  1. Liz

    liking the tunes šŸ™‚ definitely a sound folks don’t have anymore.

    • wdydfae

      Thanks, Liz! If you and amb weren’t populating my comment areas, it might get pretty lonely around here.

      And look, Dave and amb are up there on the “like” bar together. Isn’t that just adoooooorabllllllleeeee?!?

      • Liz

        you should see the conversations they have at BoFN and WBS. The blogosphere does not give much privacy for dates. Sometimes I feel I should just look away from their comments as TMI for those of us not involved. (I would say something like “they should get a room” but that would be mean and I’ve come to adore amb and Dave is a good guy, too)

      • wdydfae

        Well, I think their sweet nothings are public domain and as such they can be teased mercilessly about it.

        I can write that up in legalese if you want.

      • wdydfae

        . . . it being understood that sub-optimally audible amorous communication (henceforth “whispering sweet nothings”) between the parties indentied as “Dave” and “amb” that are initiated or sustained either in posts or comment areas shall be considered public domain, and that any third party encountering said communications shall have the certain rights and privileges with regard to public response or charaterizations up to and including . . .”

  2. amb

    ” sub-optimally audible amorous communication” is my new favourite thing. Totally stealing that one, now. Always good to have some multi-syllabic sayings up my sleeve for when Dave starts talking science to me šŸ˜‰

    • Liz

      but, amb, do you know what it all really means? You gotta watch this guy before you sign anything. Remember what happened to the last blogging couple he was communicating with? (I’ll tell you what happened–they got engaged that’s what!)

      • amb

        LOL!! I had forgotten about that – you’re right! Well, I suppose that’s either a good sign or a bad one, depending on which one of us you ask šŸ˜‰

      • wdydfae

        I did not have the pleasure of virtually meeting Nightsky’s lovely bride-to-be until after he announced, so I cannot claim credit for that.

    • wdydfae

      Wait, let me revise that: “sub-optimally audible content-free amorous communication” (I forgot the “nothings”)

      • wdydfae

        Second revision:
        unvoiced content-free amorous phonemes (henceforth “whispering sweet nothings”)

        Hard to get that right! I’m slipping.

Leave a Reply

