Posted on

Grateful Dead & Truckin’

From American Beauty (1970). Courtesy of Youtuber LongStrangeTrip710.

This CD is one of the latest of my “new old acquisitions.” I always loved this album cover, too.

Sometimes the lights all shinin on me;
Other times I can barely see.
Lately it occurs to me what a long, strange trip it’s been.

9 responses to “Grateful Dead & Truckin’

  1. Liz

    I believe GD have been given many a thumbs up here–always worth a listen. Your quote seems to sum up life quite well…

    • wdydfae

      Thanks, Liz. How did this comment get lost? Or maybe I responded to it on another thread.

      By Garsh, how can we keep track of things with that dazzling butterfly amb flying around everywhere! There she is! Now she’s over there! Now she’s over there! She’s everywhere!

  2. amb

    This has nothing to do with anything we’ve talked about today, really, but I’m listening to the “Beach Grooves” playlist on Songza and I thought of you when this track came on. I had never heard of Kormac before, but I’m kinda loving it and am curious to know what you think:

  3. wdydfae

    I like the beat and the sound collage effect. I can’t figure out if it’s quirkily reverent or quirkily irreverent, which leaves me in a state of indeterminacy, since I’m kind of a religious guy (though I don’t like to be demonstrative about it). I love religious humor in general, but when there are points it crosses the line (so to speak!). Thanks for sharing!

    • amb

      I like the sound collage effect too, but I didn’t even think of the imagery in the video *facepalm* Oh goodness, I should know better than to blithely post clips on blogs that aren’t my own! So sorry about that hun, if it crosses any lines for you, by all means edit the video out! Meanwhile, I will try to remember that the entire blogsphere doesn’t actually belong to me, much as I like to pretend otherwise …

      • wdydfae

        Think no more of it! I can’t even figure out if it should be offensive or not, and btw I grew up in a very non-religious toilet talking family, so you got to try real hard to offend me! (I’ve been suppressing my foul mouthed propensities thus far for the history of this blog.)

        I haven’t censored anything here yet, except blocking a probably spambot. I can’t imagine censoring amb! That itself would be offensive!

      • amb

        You’re a sweetheart! I’ve been having such fun with you I’d hate to think I’d done anything to mess that up.

        Speaking of having fun, don’t feel like you have to suppress your foul mouthed propensities on my account! My friends know that my mind is actually all kinds of inappropriate, so I could probably keep up with you 😉 I tend not to unleash it on my blog, as my mom has been known to stop by from time to time, but trust me, it’s there!

      • wdydfae

        I discussed the “hypocritical bourgeois diffidence that kicks in suddenly when you have your own blog and start minding your p’s and q’s” factor at the post linked below, and meditated upon the issue in the comments with Nightsky:
        https://whatdoyoudoforanencore.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/content-sfw-but-title-nsfw/

Leave a Reply

