Posted on

Tower of Power & Oakland Stroke & Squib Cakes

Not from Back to Oakland as the image suggests, but a bootleg, apparently, recorded live at Hempstead, NY. (That’s awful good sound quality for a bootleg . . .) There seems to be some discrepancy regarding whether this is from 1974 or 1975. Get your ToP on!

5 responses to “Tower of Power & Oakland Stroke & Squib Cakes

  1. Liz

    googled squib cakes and learned that is most decidedly not a food. Good to know. Had to look up bootleg, too, as I thought that was an alcohol term. Learning so much here! Yet another tune to groove to–good for late morning when I’m starting to flag.

    • Dave ⋅

      It’s impressive… you get into this blog circle and you learn some new peculiar factoid every day. It’s pretty awesome!

  2. wdydfae

    Thanks, Liz. I didn’t know what it meant either. You just motivated me to check myself.

    Having found out, do I also want to know what “Oakland Stroke” means, or do I just leave it alone?

    • Liz

      your call, but I don’t want to know. Sheesh, the blogosphere is cracking me up today what with Damber (what’s their name again? already forgot) and the quiz and pancakes and kittens, go bananas cake, and now not-suitable-for-young-children (NSFYC?) music group and song titles.

Leave a Reply

