Posted on

Tempura Kidz & Vegetable Rhythm

Or actually, “Vegetarhythm.”

Tempura Kidz do not disappoint where vivid colors and choreography are concerned. This one has a strong Okinawa folk music element. Nice instrumentation. I might actually like this better than “Cider, Cider”.

There are only two questions, really. Which one is the boy (P-chan)? (You only get 3 guesses.) And, will this get kids to eat vegetables?

Also, what will Liz think?

Also, are the lyrics more inane or less inane than the lyrics of Rebecca Black’s “Friday”?

I guess that’s four questions . . .

17 responses to “Tempura Kidz & Vegetable Rhythm

  1. Liz

    A test a test! OK, here goes:
    1) the green one?
    2) no, though it might make them want to dance when they’re in the produce dept
    3) She’ll love it!
    4) no–these lyrics are pretty much a recipe (!) for cooking vegetables and there’s even naming of specific veggies (turnips! potatoes! celery! kabocha!). Though it makes more sense to peel before grilling. haha. Compare this to Black Friday which is just about partying on the weekend and such. I’m all for partying on the weekend, but it does make for more inane lyrics than singing about how to prep and cook kabocha squash, don’t you think?

    These kids are cute, diddy. Great fine. Is this an older one? They look so young and I know you said one of them was 20ish.

    • wdydfae

      ” but it does make for more inane lyrics than singing about how to prep and cook kabocha squash, don’t you think?”
      Well, when you put it like that . . .

      I think the T kids are in junior high school. They’re often back dancers for Kyary Pamyu Pamyu (like, in the Glico ice candy CM I posted) who is 20.

    • wdydfae

      Wow I missed your extended comment because I was reading a clipped version on the pull down thing. Great commentary! Thanks! It gives me a lot of satisfaction to put a food related post up that makes Liz happy.

      But it’s not the green kid.

  2. Liz

    I had my kids watch it with me (ages 7 & 10) and they’re sure it’s purple. Note that neither one of them asked for a vegetable after watching the video. I thought KPP was a Tempura kid, too. So much I don’t know 0-:

    • wdydfae

      Correct! Purple. Kid’s intuition I guess!

      I hope this doesn’t introduce gender confusion to your kids.

      There’s no reason you would know that. Dave had me post Dexter and Deb on my own blog in the great Davember joust, and I have no idea who they are.

  3. Liz

    Dexter? Deb? Don’t know them either. Must be Community (popular tv show I’ve never seen) folk. And I only know Nathan Fillion (guy on one of my posts) because amb is such a fan and has talked about him before.

    Love that my kids got it right. It was funny how the youngest sat down and looked at the screen after I asked which one was a boy–she pointed at the purple one and said “him.” Am very impressed.

    Maybe contemporary culture consultant is the wrong title for you. There’s plenty of culture here, though not necessarily contemporary. I’ll keep checking back in just the same.

  4. wdydfae

    I struggle with the concept that I teach anyone anything, except by negative example.

    • Liz

      didn’t say you were a role model, diddy 😉 Just that I’m learning some vernacular from your blog. And I love learning and I love words, so it’s all good.

      Will check with my kids on the Gilco ad tomorrow as I just saw this tonight.

  5. amb

    That song is going to be stuck in my head all day, now ….

    PS: Re: Dexter and Deb – they’re characters from the show “Dexter” (based on a series of hilariously dark and twisty novels of the same name). Dexter is a sociopathic serial killer who, as Dave knows, I find alarmingly attractive and charming. Deb is his brilliant, tough as nails cop foster sister. (She also has one of the filthiest mouths on TV, which is why her meme was all bleeped out with #$%@!!! – too perfect)

  6. wdydfae

    I don’t see how they’re ever going to figure all this out when the Star Fleet vessel retrieves that artifact floating in space in the distant future.

Leave a Reply

