Posted on

John Scofield & Chank

At the North Sea Jazz Festival (1997).

John Scofield (guitar), John Medeski (keyboards), Chris Wood (bass), Billy Martin (drums). The comments on Youtube crack me up: “steve jobs plays some sick guitar” Then, “Russell Crowe plays some sick drums” and “Woody Harrelson plays some sick B3” Wise guys.

I love this kind of extended funk vamp. This is a smoking combo, but I don’t really know any of them except Scofield. Jazz in the 90s is mostly an unknown continent for me. I’m going to have to look for more of their collaborative efforts.

4 responses to “John Scofield & Chank

  1. Liz

    they remind me of a late-night talk show band. Fun to watch–they are so into it.

  2. wdydfae

    Thanks, Ms. Liz! In fact, I do like late-night talk show bands, and a whole lot better than the late-night talk shows!

  3. Pingback: John Scofield & Chicken Dog | What Do You Do for an Encore?

Leave a Reply

