Posted on

Sunday Offering & Hear My Prayer, O Lord & Henry Purcell

Jeremy Summerly directing Oxford Camerata.

Psalm 102:1

Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my cry come unto thee.

7 responses to “Sunday Offering & Hear My Prayer, O Lord & Henry Purcell

  1. Sis ⋅

    Very pure, love the harmonies. English composers have always been my least favorite. Now Italians, they knew how to write good music.

    • wdydfae

      Carissimi is great! Never heard it. Mind if I steal it some Sunday?

      You’re right that England is not exactly rocking in the homegrown composer department, though Henry Purcell is definitely an exception. And some people claim Benjamin Britten is pretty good, and Vaughan Williams, too, but I’m undecided. (I also started getting into Tallis a few years ago, really nice plainsong stuff.)

      The British are better at performing sacred music than producing it, I guess.

      You gotta admit, they produced some great rock groups in the 60s and 70s, though!

  2. Liz

    just lovely–calming and helped slow my breathing after a long and crazy weekend. But here’s the funny part: I’m listening to your lovely hymn and I can hear my kids (and husband!) accusing each other of making lower extremity bodily noises (haha–trying on some of your fancy talk) in the other room. Oh the joys of having children and a husband who sometimes forgets he’s a grownup.

  3. Liz

    at least I have your hymns to give me the illusion of not living in a zoo

    • wdydfae

      Hey, these things are not mutually exclusive. For instance, with the hymn above, you can tilt your head piously, gaze heavenward, and offer up the prayer of martyrdom! I’m sure your family would appreciate what a godly woman you are!

      • Liz

        godly woman and martyr–loving these images. Am afraid the reality is my sorry soul being scraped up off the floor and reassembled repeatedly by my forgiving–albeit zoo-ey and loud–family. Which is always more pleasant when accompanied by serene spiritual music.

Leave a Reply

