Posted on

Watcher of the Skies & Genesis

From Foxtrot (1972).

Tony Banks (organ), Phil Collins (drums), Peter Gabriel (lead vocals), Steve Hackett (guitar), Mike Rutherford (bass).

When I did the last Sunday special, Sis and I discussed the paucity of English classical composers BUT the high number of great British rock groups from the 60s and 70s that sort of compensates for that. Then Sis challenged me to start posting some of the latter, so, here goes. The genre I know best from that category is the surrealist progressive rock of the 70s. At a certain postpubescent stage of life, a friend of mine and I thought early Genesis albums were like revelations from God or something. The wisdom of years forces me to make a more modest assessment, but still, this stuff holds up pretty well!

2 responses to “Watcher of the Skies & Genesis

  1. Is someone watching the night skies? Should I be looking out for black helicopters?

    I’m not a big prog-rock fan, but I kinda like this one.

    • wdydfae

      I was actually wondering what NSR might think of early Genesis, but I didn’t think of the “sky” connection!

      Back then, it wasn’t called prog. rock, which may have helped a bit. That was the age of Emerson, Lake and Palmer, Jethro Tull, Roxy music, and Yes (though I never really got around to exploring them). A lot of that stuff strikes me now as ponderous and pretentious, but some of that old Genesis still has a good vibe. I wonder if Roxy Music still holds up?

Leave a Reply

