Posted on

Sunday Offering & Panis Angelicus & Chloe Agnew

Words by St. Thomas Aquinas, music by César Franck, performance by Chloe Agnew at a Celtic Woman concert at Slane Castle in Ireland.

This is a tad overproduced and overstaged for me, and I could really, seriously do without that “Whooooooaaaaahhh!!!” from the audience at the end. But, dang, her voice is perfect for this song: pure, understated, with minimal vibrato.

Panis angelicus
fit panis hominum;
Dat panis coelicus
figuris terminum:
O res mirabilis!
Manducat Dominum
Pauper, servus et humilis.

The angelic bread
becomes the bread of men;
The heavenly bread
ends all prefigurations:
What wonder!
The Lord is eaten
by a poor and humble servant.

2 responses to “Sunday Offering & Panis Angelicus & Chloe Agnew

  1. Liz

    the Celtic Women are way down on my list of favorite performers (dunno why exactly, as I’ve never met them and I imagine they are lovely folks, but they get on my nerves), but giving this a Like as you’re right–her voice is crystal clear and very sweet. I had the music on in the background, but didn’t watch the video (just don’t like watching the CW) and all was good.

  2. wdydfae

    Thanks, Liz. I know Celtic Woman only vaguely, just by name I think. Yeah, this is a great song and I was looking for a good version, but the classical divas all strangled it with vibrato. This seemed like the only one that got it right.

Leave a Reply

