Posted on

Charles Lloyd Quartet & Love Ship

Recorded in San Francisco for Ralph Gleason’s TV show Jazz Casual (1968). That’s almost ten years before The Love Boat was on tv!

Charles Lloyd (sax), Keith Jarrett (piano), Jack DeJohnette (drums), Ron McClure (bass). I found out this quartet was voted “Group of the Year” by Downbeat Magazine in 1967. Keith Jarrett of course went on to be one of the giants of jazz piano, and he and and Jack DeJohnette (one of my favorite drummers, or maybe my number one favorite) often play together. Their trio with Gary Peacock is like the quintessential jazz trio.

One point of contention: on the basis of this video I bought Dream Weaver, which has a version of “Love Ship,” but the sound engineering is so poor for that CD that I can barely hear Keith Jarrett. It’s more than a little frustrating to buy an album with Keith Jarrett on it and not be able to hear Keith Jarrett. A lot of those “classic” Warner Brothers jazz recordings turned out like that and now I pretty much avoid the label, or look at it with extreme caution.

5 responses to “Charles Lloyd Quartet & Love Ship

  1. Liz

    great music, but scary to watch-they are so into their instruments! Though that’s a good thing, I imagine.

    The Love Boat clip brought me back. Watching it put a huge goofy grin on my face. Oh how I loved that show! I don’t think I really understood much of what was going on, but it seemed so grown-up. Would love to see it again.

  2. Liz

    haha, Love Boat rocked, though the plots and character were schmaltzy, yes. But all that glamor! (thinking this is a girl thing)

    Fantasy Island was creepy.

Leave a Reply

