Posted on

Herbie Hancock & Head Hunters & Vein Melter

From Head Hunters (1973).

Herbie Hancock (keyboards), Bennie Maupin (sax), Paul Jackson (bass), Harvey Mason (drums), Bill Summers (Percussion).

14 responses to “Herbie Hancock & Head Hunters & Vein Melter

  1. amb

    Yay Herbie!! Love it 🙂

    • wdydfae

      If Amb loves it I must have done something right!

      • amb


        Have you heard his album of Joni Mitchell covers? I'm blanking on what it's called – something about a River, I think?

      • wdydfae

        That would be a trip! I’ll have to look it up!

        Herbie does not always hit it right for me (especially after 1980), but when he does it’s foundational level stuff.

        You know, I’ve really been working through a lot of Joni Mitchell quietly in the background here. I didn’t realize Don Juan’s Reckless daughter had Jaco on it. Man, that is great stuff. I’ve been going through that album trying to figure out what to post from it. I was always a distant admirer of Joni’s but I think I’m turning into a fan.

      • amb

        I found it! http://www.amazon.com/River-Letters-Tracks-Amazon-com-Exclusive/dp/B000V9RRPQ He covers “A Case of You” which is maybe my all time favourite Joni track ever. SWOON.

        Agree with you about Herbie, when I love him I really, seriously, LOVE him. Like, a lot. (You know that’s saying something coming from me!) And I love Joni, too. Fully support you turning into a fan! 🙂

      • wdydfae

        Thanks for the tip! Herbie does River here with Corrine Bailey Rae (who is quite the looker, if I may be allowed to say so).

        It’s nice! That said, there’s a certain threshhold “Carnegie Hall” type performance jazz hits where it is technically perfect but not something I could ever get into enough to revisit. A lot of jazz now is like that for me. (However, it could be a problem with me and not the jazz.) Like, I bought Herbie’s “The New Standard” album (a lot of pop songs and/or film themes transposed to jazz) and had that reaction to many of the cuts. Like a jazzed up version of Scarborough Fair and I was like, “Oh come on!”

      • wdydfae

        A Case of You is a great song. (Got it running now.) I’d never heard it before. Thanks for turning me on to it!

  2. Liz

    Herbie! (I have nothing more to sat. Just “Herbie” and then that exclamation point.)

  3. Headhunters. Incredible album.

    • wdydfae

      Thanks! I agree. And I think Thrust was even better.

      BTW, I tried to comment at your place a couple of days ago but kept getting rejected by the “read this impossible to read bot buster if you’re a real human” thing. Your site is great!

      • Thanks and sorry about the bot buster.
        I like the embedding of vids on your blog. Very multimedia!

      • wdydfae

        Well, Worpress does that automatically with Youtube videos. You can try it yourself in the comments either here or at Amb’s place or BoFN and see how easy it is, just by pasting the Youtube URL (but you need a line break just after the URL to activate it).

Leave a Reply

