Posted on

Thad Jones & Mel Lewis & Suite for Pops

Part One, “Meetin’ Place.” Possibly from 1973. “Pops” is Louis Armstrong.

The explosion from 1:00-1:20 makes me want to scream like a teeny bopper at a Beatles concert.

This band is packed with giants but I can’t identify them as well as I’d like. Thad Jones leads the band, then there’s Mel (drums), Walter Norris (keyboards), George Mraz (bass), and a whole bunch of greats on all the horns including probably Cecil Bridgewater, Bob Brookmeyer, Pepper Adams, Jerry Dodgion, Jon Faddis, Billy Harper, and Jimmy Knepper.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s