Posted on

Sunday Offering & Mahler & Urlicht

Leonard Bernstein, London Philharmonic, Janet Baker (1974).

Gustav Mahler, Symphony No. 2, “Resurrection”: 4th Movement, “Urlicht” (Primeval Light).

O red rose!
Man lies in greatest need!
Man lies in greatest pain!
How I would rather be in heaven.
There came I upon a broad path
when came a little angel and wanted to turn me away.
Ah no! I would not let myself be turned away!
I am from God and shall return to God!
The loving God will grant me a little light,
Which will light me into that eternal blissful life!

Leave a Reply

