Posted on

Sunday Reflection

Commentary on “Blessed is whoever is not scandalized in me”
(Matthew 11:6).

If the life and death of Jesus have scandal as a constitutive element, how and why is somebody who finds no scandal there blessed? Jesus is suggesting ‘Precisely insofar as you draw close to me, you will be tempted to stumble. My relationship with you will inevitably lead to that point where you do not want to go, where you will find it difficult to follow. I will ask something of you that you would rather not give. It will be particular to who you are, the thing to which you are attached.’

Jeremiah Alberg, Beneath the Veil of the Strange Verses (p. 80)

2 responses to “Sunday Reflection

  1. Liz

    d’oh! I think I did not get back to you when you were kind enough to answer my question about your take on the literal meaning of the Bible. Sorry! Sometimes it’s all I can do to keep my kids alive.

    I appreciated your thoughts and though I didn’t follow all of it (you’re deep!), I think you were saying that it’s not as easy as saying the Bible should be taken completely literally and the Bible is all symbolism. Absolutely the crucifixion and resurrection are literal–basis of Christian faith. I guess it’s mostly the OT stories I can’t swallow so fully.

    In the end, doesn’t matter and I believe that the Bible can still be “God breathed” without having to be 100% realistic.

    Speaking of, just now seeing trailers for a movie called Noah. Looks spectacular, though need to remember that blockbusters have been known to flop. Jury will be out until I see it. Looks good, though.

    • wdydfae

      It’s a big question, and a balancing act. Miracles do happen, of course, so I wouldn’t want to do a German higher criticism thing, where you basically rewrite the bible with all the miracles taken out. (Biblical literalism is kind of a reaction to that, and a reaction to modernity in general.) But that Wikipedia link in the other thread is informative. Hey, you can’t get much more hardcore Christian than St. Augustine, and he had a symbolic/allergorical take on Genesis. Another cool angle for me is Old Testament typology, where you have Old Testament prefiguring New Testament. E.g. the Ark of the Covenant is Mary, crossing the Red Sea is baptism, 40 years wandering in the desert prefigures Jesus fasting in the desert for 40 days and our own Lenten run-up. A book that had an influence on me when I was more Evangelical is Josh McDowell’s Evidence that Demands a Verdict: Historical Evidence for the Christian Faith (not sure I got the title right).

Leave a Reply

