Posted on

Ombra Mai Fu & Handel & Mera

Wdydfae will be away from the computer for a bit, and I leave my honored visitors, scattered and few though they be, with the musical selection “Ombra Mai Fu.”

Until now, I only vaguely knew this aria, just by being familiar with the melody. Though it sounds like a typical Sunday selection for this blog, it’s actually from George Frederic Handel’s secular opera Seres, or Xerxes (who was king of Persia).

I stumbled upon it because I got into Yoshikazu Mera’s voice recently and started tracking Mera’s videos across the Toobs. He’s the counter-tenor who sang the theme of Princess Mononoke and was featured in our most recent Sunday post here. I never really paid much attention to counter tenors before, but the unearthly purity of Mera’s voice really turned me around, and he really seems to nail those baroque arias in particular.

Special thanks to the Youtuber who goes by the name asterisk (literally *). In addition to having the smallest Youtube handle I’ve ever seen and matching the music with great visuals, this good servant of humanity also seems to have sneaked in a replay of the song at 2:53 (the aria is indeed a bit too short and does benefit from the replay).   * also worked in a subtle fade out from about 4:15.  I think these are nice touches but others might think * has a lot of gall for doing that.

* has a lot of gall.

Doesn’t anyone get that?

One response to “Ombra Mai Fu & Handel & Mera

  1. Wow that gave me goosebumps. It’s probably the best rendition of this I’ve ever heard.

    Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

