Posted on

2001 Theme & Deodata

I got on a 2001 kick and this where I ended up, the jazz arrangement of the theme for Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Oddyssey (the fanfare of Also Sprach Zarathustra, by Richard Strauss). From Eumir Deodata’s album Prelude (1973).

This arrangement made a big impression on me from the movie Being There (1979), in the scene where Peter Sellers’ character walks out of his house for the first time in his life (below).  But I hadn’t realized what an all star lineup was on this track, including Eumir Deodata (keyboards), Stanley Clarke (bass), Billy Cobham (drums), John Tropea (guitar), Airto Moreira (percussion).

 

8 responses to “2001 Theme & Deodata

  1. “Being There” is one of my all time favorite movies. It is so funny. And Peter Sellers is brilliant in the role.

    Enjoying the 2001 theme. 🙂

  2. This album blew my mind when I was a sophomore in high school, Diddy. Still does! Great lineup, you ain’t lying.

  3. wdydfae

    Fannie, wasn’t Being There the first movie with outtakes at the end? It was definitely the first time I saw outtakes, at any rate.

Leave a Reply

