Posted on

Sunday Music & Bach & Ich Habe Genug

Johann Sebastian Bach’s aria “Ich habe genug.” Soprano Carolyn Sampson performs with the Bach Collegium Japan, directed by Masaaki Suzuki (2008). Embedding is disabled but worth a watch directly on the T’oobs. This seems to be the prettiest version out there.

Ich habe genug,
Ich habe den Heiland, das Hoffen der Frommen,
Auf meine begierigen Arme genommen;
Ich habe genug!
Ich hab ihn erblickt,
Mein Glaube hat Jesum ans Herze gedrückt;
Nun wünsch ich, noch heute mit Freuden
Von hinnen zu scheiden.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I have enough,
I have taken the Savior, the hope of the righteous,
into my eager arms;
I have enough!
I have beheld Him,
my faith has pressed Jesus to my heart;
now I wish, even today with joy
to depart from here.

3 responses to “Sunday Music & Bach & Ich Habe Genug

  1. Zoiks. I’m going to have to search the Toobs for this one. It will not play from your page! ;(

Leave a Reply

