Posted on

Sunday Music & Coltrane & A Love Supreme

“Part I: Acknowledgement” from A Love Supreme (1964). John Coltrane (tenor sax and vocals), McCoy Tyner (piano), Jimmy Garrison (bass), Elvin Jones (drums).

4 responses to “Sunday Music & Coltrane & A Love Supreme

  1. So when are we gonna start a regular late night music-centric podcast on the Yoo T’oobs? Who knows, maybe we could even make a few buck$ on it.

    _________
    I typed “podcast” as “podcat”… given my icon, I guess that’s appropriate somehow.

    • wdydfae

      You are definitely the Pod Cat, man. That’s a total keeper.

      I’m tentatively game, especially to consider after July, giving due consideration to my total technological incompetence and weird time zones.

      Hey, our combined musical idiosyncracies should be enough to drive away all potential listeners (witness my blog traffic stats!) but there’s a kind of poetry in that, too.

  2. wdydfae

    I never did a sustained listen to this cut before. It really draws you in on repeat listenings. Elvin Jones is really like a tidal force on drums. As a couple of arch Youtube commenters have noted, it’s almost like Coltrane’s playing in Elvin Jones’ band, not the other way around.

  3. Very interesting play. At times I felt like Coltrane was trying to keep up.

Leave a Reply

