Posted on

R.I.P. Prince

7 responses to “R.I.P. Prince

  1. That brings back memories.

  2. Liz

    Can I talk about Prince? I have a lot to say. We were practically neighbors (if you call living 25 or so miles apart and in completely different worlds “neighbors”). But I was a fan and he was a part of my early years. Being a fan was a way that a good girl such as myself could rebel a bit. I remember my uber-conservative Grandma (RIP, herself) say that he was a tool of the devil. Which, at age 13, I thought was pretty cool.

    Minnesota went into serious mourning last Thursday. We lit one of our bridges up purple for the weekend. All the local news studios turned purple for broadcast. I’m heading for brunch in Minneapolis on Sunday and will beg my friend, Heather, to take the extra 10 minutes to walk to his memorial at First Ave.

    You were a Prince fan, yes?

    More important, how the heck are you, diddy? Was happy to see you still around.

    • wdydfae

      Liz! You’re back! How the heck are yuh?

      Those are great notes on Prince! Thanks!

      Prince was not really my generation or my particular thing, but “Purple Rain” has been a karaoke standard for me, and a fantastic song, and I admired his musical genius in a general way without being specifically a fan. His life also strikes me as very sad.

      • Liz

        I am mostly the heck good. My daughters keep me running. So much drama always. Work has been keeping me less busy lately, hence the opportunity to jump back on the blogging wagon.

        Tell me how the heck is you. Please.

      • wdydfae

        A lot busier than I want to be, Ms. Lizzie.

  3. Dave ⋅

    Arto and I were so sad when we lost Prince. I still tell people that watching Purple Rain in 2005 helped get me through one of the lousier periods of my life, and really changed my life for the better.

    Luckily, a theater near Arto’s neighborhood was showing a reprise of Purple Rain this week, so on Monday night, I took a break from board studying and Arto, my sister, and I all watched Purple Rain in a theater…. something we never had the chance to do before. By the end of it, we were all dancing, and so were many of the other viewers. What a splendid, memorable performance!

Leave a Reply

