Posted on

Crown of Roses & Tchaikovsky & Sunday Music

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, “Legend (The Crown of Roses),” sung by Tenebrae, directed by Nigel Short, performed at the Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul, Philadelphia (2012).

6 responses to “Crown of Roses & Tchaikovsky & Sunday Music

  1. Chairomai ⋅

    Wow this is totally lovely – magical, in fact! Thanks for sharing this 🙂

    • wdydfae

      Thanks for sharing the comment, Chairomai! Somewhere in Tchaikovsky’s symphonic music I’ve heard the instrumental version of this but I can’t remember in what piece. Maybe I’ll try to look it up.

    • wdydfae

      I found it! Anton Arensky did an arrangement, “Variation on a theme by Tchaikovky.”

      • Chairomai ⋅

        Oh thanks so much for finding the arrangement for me! It’s really pretty. I like the Tchaikovsky original even more maybe, as the Arensky sounds almost a bit too neat (if that makes sense?), but really like both, and will definitely be listening to them again as I work this week 🙂 Thanks again!

  2. I’m always impressed when a video performance can commandeer my speakers and make me feel like I’m sitting in the audience.

    Enjoyed the string version too.

Leave a Reply

