Posted on

Sunday Offering 26 Martyrs

Painting and details of the martyrdom of February 5, 1597 in Nagasaki, Japan. The martyrs were beatified in 1627, and canonized in 1862. The painting is at the 26 Martyrs Museum in Nagasaki.
IMG_3701IMG_3700.JPGIMG_3699

7 responses to “Sunday Offering 26 Martyrs

  1. Liz

    Deep stuff. Art, too. Like it. Do you have a favorite style of painting?

    • wdydfae

      Sorry, Liz! Have been away from a computer, or at least away from my password. I don’t have any special favorite. What have you been up to?

      • Liz

        Life and lots of it. Kids are busy with kid stuff. Trying to keep myself from going completely crazy by working some. Are you still at bofn? Life continues to whirl around for you?

      • wdydfae

        Dave gave me “post whenever you want” posting rights at BoFN after I wriggled out of the monthly Tuesday duties, but I only post there very infrequently. Mostly I hang out and shill for Fannie and Kerbey. Yes, a life whirl is in progress.

  2. I don’t know how I missed this. Beautiful artwork. Very symbolic.

    • wdydfae

      Thanks, Fannie! It was supposed to be more for historic/theological value than art merit, because its from the 26 martyrs museum in Nagasaki. I had a whole Nagasaki series planned, with a tie-in to the movie Silence, but I ran out of blog juice.

      • There is definite theological and historical value as well as parallelism in the depiction of the martyrs.

        The Nagasaki series, if or when you ever get your blog juice back, would be very cool. But I completely understand running out of juice.

Leave a Reply

