Posted on

Herbie Hancock & Space Captain

Recording session of “Space Captain” (written by Matthew Moore, popularized by Joe Cocker in 1970), with Herbie Hancock and other greats.

Herbie Hancock (piano), Susan Tedeschi (lead/backup vocals), Derek Trucks (slide guitar), Oteil Burbridge (bass, backup vocals), Kofi Burbridge (organ, backup vocals), Mike Mattison (backup vocals), Vinnie Colaiuta (drums). Epic “trading fours” back and forth between piano and slide from 3:34.

3 responses to “Herbie Hancock & Space Captain

  1. That’s a fun piece. I loved the long instrumentals and the freedom they took in playing with the music.

  2. wdydfae

    Thanks, Fannie. I didn’t see this comment slip in.

    I feel like I should know this song (I kinda recognize the chorus, but it’s mostly unfamiliar to me. I feel like I should know the lead singer, too. She kind of combines Joe Cocker, Janis Joplin, Aretha Franklin, and Norah Jones. That said, distinctive, never heard anything like it.

Leave a Reply

