Soul Vaccination & Tower of Power

“Soul Vaccination,” followed by “Clever Girl,” Tower of Power live in 1973.

Don’t quote me on this, but Lenny Williams (vocals), Chester Thompson (organ), Francis “Rocco” Prestia (bass), Bruce Conte (guitar), David Garibaldi (drums), Brent Byars (conga), Emilio Castillo (tenor sax, bandleader), Greg Adams (trumpet), Stephen “Doc” Kupka (baritone sax), Lenny Picket (tenor saxophone), Mic Gilette (trombone).

Pace of Mind & Purbayan Chatterjee

Purbayan Chatterjee’s “Pace of Mind,” over at the lifeismusic place, from 2015.

If I got the personnel right, it’s Purbayan Chatterjee (sitar), Louiz Banks (keyboard), Mohini Dey (bass), Gino Banks (drums), Taufiq Qureshi (conga), Bhushan Parchure (tabla). I’ve been going down a trippy Mohini Dey rabbit hole lately. She also just got, or is going to get, married. Congratulations, MD!

R.I.P. Chick Corea & Spain

R.I.P. Chick Corea (1941 – 2021) giant of the keyboard, giant of jazz, giant of jazz fusion. “Spain” from Light as a Feather (1972).

Chick Corea (keyboards), Flora Purim (vocals, percussion), Stanley Clarke (bass), Joe Farrel (flute), Airto Moreira (drums and percussion).

Great tribute from Rick Beato:

Dylan & Still with Us! & Like a Rolling Stone

There were reports that Bob Dylan had passed on, but no, not at all! Reports have been greatly exaggerated! Dylan lives on in body and in spirit! Always one of my favorites, from Highway 61 Revisited (1965).

Bob Dylan (vocals, guitar, harmonica), Mike Bloomfield (electric guitar), Al Kooper (organ), Frank Owens (piano), Joe Macho Jr. (bass), Bobby Gregg (drums), Bruce Langhorne (tambourine).